top of page

Lockdown - Got to get OUT

Updated: Sep 9, 2021

I was planning to go out for a short hike to capture some photographs on Sunday, however the weather was rubbish, pouring down and very strong winds.

After consuming some breakfast I began to feel a little guilty, should I have gone out or not. Whilst watching the TV which was advising us of the impending second national lockdown made up my mind, it was either today or wait for a minimum of 4 weeks before I can get out again.

My gear was loaded into the car, wellies, walking boots plus wet weather pants and coat clothing and, umbrella, drying clothes and backpack waterproof cover to protect, my equipment.

The sky's were heavy with rain sodden clouds, the light was rather flat, but this provided a good opportunity to capture some real atmospheric images. Due to the time of day, I could not travel too far to a location, so I selected Crummock Water and Buttermere as todays locations, these being within 30 minutes from where I live.

First task was to find a parking place in, or around Buttermere, despite the poor weather all the usual free car parking areas were full, so I had to park on the road out of Buttermere travelling up towards Newlands Pass, a decision I would come to regret later in the day.

I quickly got changed, loaded up my back pack and set off towards Sourmilk Gill, thinking that the autumnal colours of the trees would create a contrast to the masses of water flowing down the fell after the recent heavy rainfall we have had in Cumbria.

Walking down the steep hill into Buttermere Village was a breeze even with my wellies on. As I trekked round towards the water fall, I decided to change tact and head for the loan tree as the low clouds, and rain showers sweeping across the lake were creating favourable conditions. I was surprised to find that I was the only person there, so set out to capture some images in landscape and portrait orientation, using short and long exposures. The high water levels made it impossible to get close to the tree, but this created a slightly different viewing point to photograph the tree.

I then re-traced my steps to the waterfall, and decided that the ideal viewpoint was in the middle of a farmers field, this allowed a view of the white water within the corridor of coloured autumnal trees. Again whilst dodging the heavy showers, and diving under the umbrella, I practiced with varying shutter speeds to determine the best effect of the falling water.

What next?

I have never visited Scale Force falls, so made the impulsive decision to hike around towards where they are, just off the shore of Crummock Water. We had attempted to find these falls some years ago, but could not pick up the path from the lake shore to the falls, so this time I was prepared, map to hand I was determined to find the path. As I trekked along the path I was keeping a lookout for any reasonable photo opportunities, picking out three or four as I went as there was no urgency to get to the falls.

I found the high path towards the falls and set off gaining height, the path becoming very clunky with many boulders protruding through the ground, wellies were not the ideal footwear for this type of walk, but they had been useful in allowing me to wade through the many places where the footpath was flooded lower down.

After about 50 minutes I arrived at the falls and was rather worried as I could not see or hear the falls, but as I got closer and looked up the very narrow valley in which the falls are hidden, my god what a sight. I just stood there and looked at the view in front of me for several minutes, what a view, the height of the lower second fall was impressive, but the height of the main fall is amazing.

Scale Force is considered the highest waterfall in the English Lake District. Opinions vary about how its precise height is calculated, but the total height is normally stated as 170 feet. Scale Beck supplies the water to the falls and then flows into Crummock Water, and there was plenty of water flowing on the day of my visit.

The rocks around the falls are very slippery they are covered in the spray coming form the falls, I assessed if it was possible to climb over the lower falls, but I was defiantly not trying that in these weather conditions and with wellies on.

I then set about picking out some compositions, again using short and long exposures to find the most appealing effect of the water. The rain then began to fall more consistently at this time, but this was not going to stop me getting the photos I wanted, all told I was at the location for over a hour, time just flew by.

My return hike was going to be by the path that followed the beck down to the lake, me hoping that this would be a bit more path-like, and not so many boulders to trample over as by now my feet were beginning to warn me of impending blisters.

As I began walking the wind increased, the rain became heavier, just what the doctor ordered, I soon intersected the path on the lake shore and began to retrace my route back towards Buttermere. Upon reaching Buttermere village my feet were killing me, and I new that I had that dammed road to climb to the car, psychological it may have been, but by the time I reached the car my feet were screaming, and as much as I tried, them bloody wellies were not coming off my feet. After a bit of tugging and shoving first the right foot, then the left came free, ohhh what comfort to put a pair of trainers on!!

I was soaked, my pants could have been rang out, my shoulders were soaked where my backpack straps had been rubbing on my jacket and I had no change of clothes. Sod it, I just jumped into the car, turned the heating up to maximum and set off home in the knowledge that I had got some good photographs in the can.

So that is it, probably the last hike out for at least 4 weeks, but potentially more, depending on what the idiots running the asylum say.

Stay Safe everyone, look after the elderly, the infirm and people living on their own.

See you on the other side.



23 views
bottom of page