top of page

Trying to find my landscape photography enthusiasm!

After many weeks of photography inactivity due to many reasons, family commitments, social commitments, poor weather, cant be bothered!!, I finally made a commitment to get out with the camera last weekend.

I reviewed the weather forecast which looked good for Saturday morning, so a early rise and off we set to travel to Wasdale, passing Whitehaven there was no sign of strong winds, with some cloud cover, looking good.

However upon passing Gosforth, the best of the sunrise light had gone, and surprisingly the wind had picke dup quite strongly.

Upon arriving at Wast water I was shocked to be confronted with very strong winds, bland skys with no cloud cover, the end result being that despite looking around for a composition in several location for over 1.5 hours, I decided to head home, not even taking one phoot.

The joys of landscape photography.


Fast forward to the following weekend, poor weather forecast, lots of rain with strong winds. However Sunday afternoon showed signs of change, the sun was breaking through the dispersing cloud cover creating some warm lighting conditions. I decided to pack the gear into the car and head for keswich to see what the conditions were like.

The weather at Keswick was not ideal, low swirling cloud, with the sun making an apperance every now and again.

I had a look around Isthmus Bay to find that the water levels in the lake were high after the recent rains, the jetty was totally submerged so I proceeded to seek a composition using the protruding rocks as foreground interest and shoot towards Fawe Park, the image I captured was not fantasitc, but was of a resonable quality (copy attached)


I then put the wellies that I was rearing to good use, as I walked along the submerged path form Isthmus Bay to Crow Park.

From Crow park the lakes surface was very calm, creating some reflections, with the light was a little flat, however the colours of the trees turning to autumn colours and the colours on the fells created quite an interesting scene.

The image attached reflects the calm atmospheric conditions, and the two ducks add an element of originality to the image.


I hope that the 3 hours or so that I was out in the fresh air on Sunday will re-kindle my enthusiasm and enable me to get out more often in the fells and lakes to expand my photography experiences.


4 views
bottom of page