top of page

The end of the 10 week lockdown

After 10 long weeks in lockdown in the UK, the government have decided that people can travel to seek exercise, after giving serious thought to this relaxing of the rules, I decided to go out with the camera for the first time in 3 months, being conscious of the social distancing requirements, I weighed up my options.

I decided to head for a viewpoint that is not to far to travel from my home, planning to be on location for sunrise, I set my alarm for 3am, what a shock to the system, and set out to my destination.

Upon arrival, I found the car park had been blocked, so I drove a little further up the road to a sizable lay-bye and parked the car.

I got sorted out with my equipment and began the walk up to the summit of the fell, it did not take long to realise my level of fitness has diminished markedly during the lockdown, I soon began shedding layers, ending up with just a tee shirt which was comfortable on the way up. Sadly I realised that I would miss sunrise by about 15 minutes, but upon arrival on the summit the light was quite soft, but the lack of clouds meant the sky was a bland shade of light blue.

I picked out a couple of compositions, one being a panoramic of the lake below. As the sun cam up above the surrounding fells, so did the wind, I was soon adding the layers that I removed ealier. The next valley along was full of flowing mists, as was the head of Borrowdale Valley, Great Gable being hidden in mist and low cloud.

I stayed on the top of the fell for around 2 hours picking out images as the rising sun changed the view s around me.

As I became colder, I decided to pack up and set off back down the fell, planning to look for more compositions on the way down, only to find my knees were reminding me that they were not used to this intensity of exercise.

Hence,

I picked out the easiest route back down, only stopping once when I noticed a lone Hawthorn tree which looked interesting when looking down the valley towards Bassenthwaite Lake, I framed the three in the shot and got the phot.

Upon return to the car, I enjoyed a lovely warm cup of coffee before retuning home.



12 views
bottom of page