top of page

Summers early sunrises and late sunsets

Updated: Sep 9, 2021

As is usual at this time of year, the very early sunrises and late sunsets play havoc with my photography. If you miss the early start, the sun is quickly high in the sky and delivering harsh light.

It seems like ages since I managed to capture a sunrise, but I have to be honest and confess to not being the best earliest riser in the world.

I sometimes find it hard to raise my photographic enthusiasm during the summer months, the early sunrises, late sunsets, harsh light and exceptionally green scenery tends to result in very few excursions into the contryside to seek out any photography options.

So what have I been up to for the mid summer weeks, well not to much, we have had an evenings walk around Buttermere a couple of weeks ago, from where I captured a couple of images from the Buttermere village end of the lake, and one of the lone tree, and a shot up the lake with some good cloud cover creating complimanting shadows across the fells.

We have visited to the local beach on several occasions to capture some glorious sunsets, and spent an a evening photographing around Tewet Tarn this weekend. Images from these visits are located within my website.

As the mornings and nights begin to draw in, I will regain my enthusiasm for getting out and about photographing the lovely scenery on our doorsteps.

We have another trip planned to the Isle of Skye later in the year to look forward to, and I am researching new locations to expand my photography experiances.





3 views
bottom of page