top of page

Lets get a sunset photo

Updated: Sep 9, 2021

The recent excellent weather in the UK has produced some outstanding sunsets in the Lake District, this is a brief story of my attempt to capture one on Saturday 30th May.

The weather had been glorious all da very hot without a cloud in the sky.

I new there would be a good chance of a decent sunset where I live on the west coast of the Solway Firth looking west to Scotland, indeed there had been some outstanding examples throughout the preceding week.

I got to my location about 25 minutes before sunset, picked my composition and then began the waiting game. A severe lack of cloud cover of any description was a worry, but perseverance is the key to landscape photography.

As the minutes ticked by the sun dropped below the horizon without a great deal of pastel colours in the sky, I clicked away at regular intervals in the hope of catching something special.

Soon the sun was gone, the temperature began to drop quite sharply, and still no real colouring in the sky.

After another 30 minutes wait, I decided that this was it and packed up to return home.

After reviewing the photos that I had taken, the one below stood out as the best image from the bunch, and a phone photo showing my set up to capture this image.



4 views
bottom of page