top of page

Rain, Rain and Rain

Updated: Sep 9, 2021

Due to pre-arranged travel plans I was restricted to only getting out with the camera on Sunday afternoon this weekend.

Bright sharp sunshine did not bode well, but I decided to try and get some images of the expected high water levels in the lakes after the recent high rain levels.

I agin choose to head for Derwentwater, it being the nearest lake to me.

We arrived at Isthmus Bay and my oh my, were the water levels high, the old jetty was completely submerged, I cant recall seeing this before.

A walk around the bay produced no suitable compositions due to everything being underwater, but the flooded path from Isthmus Bay to Crow Park produced a tunnel like composition so I tried to capture this.

We then walked the long way round to the Crow Park, again there was not much composition-wise at the waters edge, so I used the telephoto lens to try and get some decent images looking up Borrowdale valley, the snow capped fells and light shining on some of the fells created some interest.

The three images that I took were nothing outstanding, but taking in to account the weather conditions and exceedingly high water levels, I was reasonably happy with these. At least we got out for in the fresh air for a few hours for a look about.




5 views
bottom of page