top of page

Homeward bound

Updated: Sep 9, 2021

After a day at work, and on my drive home, I could not help but notice the amazing cloud formations in the sky all around me. Bright sunshine present, but the most amazing dark intense clouds swirling around.

Once tea was had we decided to head for Buttermere on a dual purpose, one to enjoy a summers evening walk with the dog, and two to try and capture any images that would show off the amazing cloud formations.

As is the norm, upon arriving at Buttermere a massive bank of dark dense clouds drifted across the sun thus removing all the light at an instance.

Not to worry, we had a short walk about with the dog, I then picked out a composition, set up and preceeded to wait for the sun to re-appear.

After a 15 minute wait this dully arrived, and I set about trying to get a couple of images. I took some as long exposures, as the lakes surface was quite choppy and I wanted to capture the movement of the clouds across the sky, I also took several images to capture the scattering of clouds within the sky.

After 40 minutes or so I moved around the lake to the lone tree, surprised to find that I was the only person there. I picked out a couple shots from a very low angle looking up to capture the lovely clouds in the sky.

After capturing 4 or 5 images, and being eaten by the midges, I packed up and headed for home for a well deserved cup of tea.





4 views
bottom of page