top of page

Derwent Water Sunrise

Updated: Sep 9, 2021

I planned to visit Otterbeild Bay to capture the Lone Tree on, what I hoped would be a good sunrise.

I arrived early and got set up well before sunrise, as I stood and waited, a lack of clouds indicated that any colour in the sky would not be there for long.

I took several images until 20 minutes after sunrise then decided to move on and take a walk along the western and southern shores of Derwent Water to see if I could find anything interesting.

I came across an old jetty that was in a state of disrepair, but I though that this would make a interesting black and white photo, so after having a look around i got the photo which is below. My thoughts are that the black and white image brings out the detail in the old wooden posts and planks, a long exposure was used to flatten out the waters surface.

I then came to Otter Island which had some of the early morning light shining on it with Skiddaw and Blencathra also bathed in the dawn light which made an interesting background.

Further along the lakes shore I seen a house perched above the lake with Maiden Moor providing the backdrop, this created a sense of scale, and to add to the scene, this had shafts of the early morning soft warm light hitting the tops of the fell, whilst this is not the best photograph that I have taken, the scale and warmth within the scene produced a adequate image.

Has I circled round the southern shore of the lake the whole Skiddaw range of hills was bathed in the warm light of the day, the colours on the fells beginning to change to their autumnal colours, I found some foreground interest and took a couple of images with subtle variation of foreground and mid ground interest.

By the time I reached the Chinese bridge it was 10.30 am with the light becoming quite harsh, I decided to re-trace my route back to the car and head home for some well deserved food. As I walked back to the car I was amazed how busy it was, however upon driving back from the bottom of Cat Bells to Portinscale it was jam packed with vehicles and parked cars.




20 views
bottom of page