top of page

Catching a Spring Dawn

Updated: Sep 9, 2021

A early 4.15 am alarm call was needed to get me up and to be able to travel to Elterwater and the River Brathey in the hope of getting some sunrise images.

I arrived about 30 minutes before sunrise and had a quick scout about for any images, as the sun began to rise it soon became evident that there was not going to be any great light show, however there was very little wind so I could try to get some images of the freshly leaved trees reflecting in the still river waters.

I managed to capture some interesting images from this location, but as the sun rose the light became to harsh for any additional photos.

I decided to pack up and travel to Fishgarth woods to see if I could get any photos of the Bluebells in the woods, a fellow photographer had showed me this location several years ago.

I must admit that as you walk up the steep hill to get further into the woods, the view and smell of the Bluebells is amazing.

I pottered about for a couple of hours trying to locate interesting compositions amongst the trees and flowers, it is surprising how difficult it is to create an interesting image from these wonderful surroundings.

After reviewing my photos the one below shows off the Bluebells the best.



4 views
bottom of page