top of page

A magical Morning

Updated: Sep 9, 2021

Its been a month or so since I was out with the camera. (this is starting to become a common theme) due to family commitments and a spot of decorating needing done in the house.

Having finished work on Friday, I scoured the weather forecast, needless to say it had changed from earlier in the week, but despite the predicted cloud cover and milder temperatures I decided to bite the bullet and go with my earlier decision, and head for Langdale.

I arrived early, still dark and cold, but there were wisps of mist in the air. I soon got sorted and headed off towards the River Brathay.

Once on location, I was surprised to find that I was on my own, so picked out a composition and waited for the sunrise, as I was waiting a couple of other photographers arrived, and headed further along the river bank.

As the sky began to lighten the mists were visible along the waters surface and settling along the valley, no wind, beautifully peaceful but cold, we were all waiting for the light to appear to add the finishing touch to the scene in front of us.

As is the norm in these circumstances, the light never arrived as anticipated, a fellow photographer had a drone up, and he informed us that there was a huge bank of cloud out towards the east that was blocking any chance of the dawn light reaching us.

I took a few images of the mist intermingling with the trees and practiced with differing camera setting to get the image that I wanted.

As so often happens in these conditions the mists thickened then thinned continuously along the river creating subtle changes to the views in front of me.

After a while I decided to move further along the river looking for different compositions, along the way stopping to chat to the half dozen or so photographers who had arrived during the time that I was taking photographs.

I ended up on the shores of Elterwater looking towards the Langdale Pikes, there was a wall of low lying mist between me and the Pikes, all that was missing was some light on the pikes from the rising sun, three of us were standing waiting for this to happen, passing the time with conversation about all things COVID.

Once the sun rose over the eastern clouds hitting the Langdale Pikes, the mist had thinned considerably, despite this I took several images and for the last shot I took a 7 image panoramic of the scene which I would stich together on the computer, the result of this attached below.

As I retraced my route back to the car I captured a couple of good shots looking back along the river with the mist intermingling in the trees, reflections of these in the waters surface and lovely warm light on the fells in the background creating a contrast to the foreground.

A lovely hot cup of coffee was very welcome upon returning to the car, my fingers being numb with the cold, a sure sign on winter is on the way.

On reflection the morning was a success, and well worth the early start and the hours travel to arrive in time for the sunrise. It was nice to chat to fellow photographers to here their stories and backgrounds.

Many thanks for your continued likes and comments to my social media posts, these are always appreciated.

Until next time, stay safe and take care.




13 views
bottom of page