top of page

A Early Start

Updated: Sep 9, 2021

The down side of catching any sunrise at this time of year is the early alarm call, 5.45am to capture some images at Wasdale.

I have been aware for some time that I had not visited Wast Water and Wasdale, and have been reviewing the weather forecasts for a suitable window in which to travel there to take some photos, it is a lovely part of the lake district, but is somewhat isolated.

Needless to say for the morning of the 24th a clear sunrise was promised with light winds, so plans were made and off we went.

Up on arriving at Wast Water, the sunrise did not look to promising, some cloud cover, but no colours in the sky when looking towards the east, but plenty of colours on show looking west.

I was surprised to see so many campervans parked up, the nights must be cold at this time of year.

Once changed, I proceeded to look for some compositions, one or two would have been great, but the campervans were parked within the image so I moved on from these.

I ended up at the normal locations, on the north shore of the lake looking east towards Wasdale Head with Yebarrow, Scafell and Lingmell forming the backdrop.

I persisted for a hour or so changing my position slightly and experimenting with different exposure times, from1/60th of a second to 120 seconds.

I saw only one other photographer during my time at Wasdale, she had grabbed my preferred shooting location, but this made me look a little harder and use some vision of the images that I wanted to capture.

I had planned to walk round to the boathouse to take some images and travel up Wasdale to look for some compositions on the streams, but my camera battery went flat, and having committed the carinal sin of not packing my spare batteries, my trip was cut short.

You live and learn as they say!!

One of the long exposure images is attached.



3 views
bottom of page